Office Bearers

The Council is the governing body of The Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh, and represents the professional interests of the College's membership. Decisions made by Council formulate policy and direct the College in its mission to promote the highest standards of surgical practice. As a charitable organisation, the Members of Council are also Trustees of the College. Council comprises five Office-Bearers, 16 members and the Dean of the Faculty of Dental Surgery. The Chief Executive is in attendance at Council meetings.The Council meets approximately seven times per year. 

The President, two Vice-Presidents, the Honorary Secretary and the Honorary Treasurer are the Office-Bearers. The President and Vice-Presidents are elected by Council and have a three-year term of office. The Honorary Secretary and Honorary Treasurer are appointed by Council from within the Fellowship of the College. Their term of office is normally three years, but extendable to five years. The Council Office-Bearers, together with the Dean of the Faculty of Dental Surgery and the Chief Executive meet on a regular basis to conduct Council-related business. 

  • President

    Professor Michael Lavelle-Jones

    Professor Michael Lavelle-Jones became President of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh in 2015. He is a Consultant General Surgeon with an interest in colorectal and paediatric surgery at Ninewells Hospital in Dundee. He previously held the positions of Honorary Secretary and Vice-President.

  • Vice-President

    Professor John Duncan

    Professor John Duncan OBE is Consultant General and Vascular Surgeon at Raigmore Hospital in Inverness and is the Director of Undergraduate Teaching in Inverness for the University of Aberdeen. He has served as an Office Bearer in the College, first as Honorary Secretary for two years and then Honorary Treasurer for five years. For the past six years he has been Editor of Surgeons’ News.

  • Vice-President

    Professor Graham Layer

    Professor Graham Layer is a Consultant Surgeon at the Royal Surrey County Hospital and is the immediate past Honorary Secretary of the College. He is a past elected member of the RCSEd Council and was previously Director of CPD and Regional Surgical Adviser with responsibility to the Department of Health and Government. He currently contributes to many major College committees and functions, as well as being an examiner and Associate Editor of our Journal, "The Surgeon” and writes regularly for “Surgeons News”.

  • Honorary Treasurer

    Professor Richard Montgomery

    Professor Richard Montgomery is Consultant Trauma and Orthopaedic Surgeon at the James Cook University Hospital in Middlesbrough. He has been a Member of Council since 2011. He is interested in training and assessment, and serves as Hon. Sec. to the ISB in Trauma and Orthopaedic Surgery.

  • Honorary Secretary

    Dr Judy Evans

    Dr Judy Evans is Consultant Plastic Surgeon in Plymouth since 1990. Her major interests are in malignant melanoma and breast surgery. She has been a College examiner for 18 years, and is on numerous College committees. She has a strong commitment to equal opportunities in training.

  • Immediate Past President

    Mr Ian Ritchie

    Mr Ian Ritchie was President of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh 2012 to 2015. During his time as President, the College established a base in Birmingham which increased its visibility for the Fellowship in England. The Faculty of Surgical Trainers continued to develop and established standards for surgical trainers in anticipation of the GMC requirement to accredit trainers from 2016. He actively supported the International Medicate Graduate Sponsorship Scheme and expanded its remit for the benefit of trainees from the international community.

  • Dean of the Faculty of Dental Surgery

    Professor William Saunders

    Professor William Saunders is Professor of Endodontology at the University of Dundee and Honorary Consultant in Restorative Dentistry. He is in his third term on Dental Council and was Chairman of the Speciality Advisory Board in Restorative Dentistry from 2005-12. He sits on the College International Strategy Committee as the Dental Council Representative.

The term of office for the current President and Vice-Presidents is November 2015 to November 2018.

Tagged with: Office Bearers RCSEd Council The President

back to top of page