Council Members

There are 16 members of Council who come from a range of surgical disciplines and who represent diverse interests across the profession. Members of Council are elected by the breadth of the College membership and serve a five-year term. They are eligible for a second consecutive term of office. A Trainee representative is also elected to Council by the Membership of the College.

The following are current members of the RCSEd Council:

  • Mr Charles AuldMr Charles Auld is a Consultant General Surgeon at Dumfries and Galloway Royal Infirmary. He has served on several College Committees and is a past Chairman of the General Surgery SSG. He has an interest in the provision of safe emergency general surgical services throughout the UK in an era of increasing specialisation and how this might be achieved.

  • Mr Stuart ClarkMr Stuart Clark is a full time NHS Consultant in Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery in Central Manchester. He was elected to Council in 2016. He is actively involved in examinations, education, the Regional Advisory Network and International Medical Graduates.

  • Mr Roger CurrieMr Roger Currie is a Consultant Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon in Ayrshire with sessions at the QE University Hospital in Glasgow. He was elected to Council in 2010 and has responsibility for the Colleges Regional Adviser networks and Trainees. A Fellow of the Faculty of Surgical Trainers, he is Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer at the University of Glasgow, Clinical Lead for Skin Cancer West of Scotland and Immediate Past Chair of the Scottish Oral and Maxillofacial Society.

  • Ms Victoria DobieVictoria Dobie is an Associate Specialist in Orthopaedic Surgery at the Borders General Hospital in Melrose. Since 2011 she has served on the College SAS and Locum Consultant Committee and has been the SAS representative on the Orthopaedic Surgery Speciality Group since 2012.

  • Professor Simon FrostickProfessor Simon Frostick is Professor of Orthopaedics in Liverpool and Honorary Consultant at Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust. In 2013, he became an adviser to the College on International Curriculum Development and hopes to bring to Council his experience and knowledge as a practicing clinician with an international reputation as a shoulder and elbow surgeon.

  • Mr Alastair GibsonMr Alastair Gibson is a Consultant Spinal Surgeon practising in Edinburgh, elected to Council in 2012. A College examiner for eight years, he has diverse interests in Clinical Research and Training with specialist expertise in minimally invasive surgery.

  • Mr Tim GrahamMr Timothy Graham is a Consultant Cardiothoracic Surgeon and Senior Lecturer in Clinical Surgery at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham, University of Birmingham and Royal Centre for Defence Medicine UK and a Civilian Consultant Cardiac Surgeon to the British Army. He’s a joint founder of the National Birmingham Review course in Cardiothoracic surgery and the National Birmingham Professional Development Course. He’s also a joint founder and convenor of the Asian Cardiothoracic Surgery Specialty Update Course (ACSSUC). Received Honorary Fellowship of Indian Association of Cardiothoracic and Vascular surgeons in 2011 and Distinguished Surgeon Award from Academy of Medicine Singapore in 2013.

  • Professor S Michael Griffin OBEProfessor S Michael Griffin OBE is a Consultant Surgeon with an Upper GI interest and Professor of Surgery at the Royal Victoria Hospital. He developed the Northern Oesophago-Gastric Cancer Unit which is now the largest in Europe and North America and is Chair in Surgery at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne. A Council member since 2009, he is also Chairman of the Intercollegiate Board of General Surgery.

  • Mr Sanjay GuptaMr Sanjay Gupta is a Consultant General Surgeon at Lister Hospital, Stevenage, and Honorary Senior Clinical Lecturer at University College London. He is currently Clinical Sub-Dean at the Cambridge Medical School, University of Cambridge. He was elected to the College Council in 2015 and currently a member of the College Standards and ESSQ Committee. His special interests include upper GI and laparoscopic surgery. He is actively involved in the medical education and training and has been a College examiner since 2010.

  • Dr Sunil KumarDr Sunil Kumar is a Senior Consultant and HOD Surgery in Tata Main Hospital, Jamshedpur, India, and an FRCS/MRCS examiner for the College. In 2015, he was awarded the Excellence in Medical Education prize from India’s National Board of Examinations.

  • Ms Clare McNaughtMs Clare McNaught is a Consultant General and Colorectal Surgeon based at Scarborough Hospital. She was elected to Council in 2014 and was Regional Advisor for Yorkshire for three years. Clare is a College examiner, is on a number of College committees and is Chair of the Younger Fellows Committee.

  • Mr Ahmed NassefMr Ahmed Nassef Consultant Vascular Surgeon/Honorary Senior Lecturer, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals Foundation NHS Trust.

  • Ms Anna PaisleyMiss Anna Paisley is a Consultant General and Upper GI Surgeon at the Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh. She has a particular interest in surgical recruitment, training and assessment. She was Regional Surgical Adviser for South East Scotland for 4 years, is current Year One Director of the Edinburgh Surgical Sciences Qualification and was elected onto Council in 2015.

  • Professor Robin PatonProfessor Robin Paton is an Orthopaedic Surgeon with a special interest in Paediatric Orthopaedics and works in East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust. He qualified from the University of Glasgow in 1980 and underwent his surgical training in London, Manchester and Stuttgart. He is passionate on training and research: he has been voted the Orthopaedic North West Trainer of the Year twice by NWOTA and was awarded the King James IV Professorship in 2016.

  • Professor Rowan ParksProfessor Rowan Parks is a Consultant HPB Surgeon. Serving on the Council since 2009, he has been the lead for revalidation and organised the Lister Centenary Meeting 2012 and President's Meeting 2013 - 2015. He has a significant interest in medical education & training and is currently Deputy Medical Director of NHS Education for Scotland.

  • Mr Pala B RajeshMr Pala B Rajesh is a Consultant Thoracic Surgeon at the Heartlands Hospital in Birmingham. He was elected to Council in 2012. He is presently the Chairman of the SSG in Cardiothoracic Surgery and Lead Convenor of the Overseas Examinations in Cardiothoracic Surgery.

  • Ms Alice HartleyMs Alice Hartley is an ST5 in Urology in the North East of England is the RCSEd elected Trainee Member of Council and is currently in her second year of a PhD looking at prostate cancer biomarkers. She has been a member of the College Trainees' Committee since 2013 and is actively involved with various College educational activities, including the Urology training project in Myanmar. She is Chair of the College’s Trainees' Committee and of the College’s working group on Bullying and Undermining.

  • Ms Alison RooneyMs Alison Rooney joined the College as Chief Executive in October 2008. Prior to this, she worked in both the private and public sectors, holding senior management and governance roles in industry, education and the Civil Service. Alison is Company Secretary for each of the College's companies. The Chief Executive attends Council meetings.

Tagged with: RCSEd Council

back to top of page